You’ve just been in an accident; it’s not your fault, but you’re injured. Fortunately, you pay your car insurance premiums faithfully. However, in West Virginia, that doesn’t necessarily mean that you are as protected as you may need to be.
In West Virginia, there are mandatory car insurance coverages that the law requires you to buy. You must carry Liability Coverage, which protects your personal assets in the event that you’re in an accident and at fault. You must also carry Uninsured Motorist Coverage, which protects you in the event that you’re in an accident, the other driver is at fault, and the other driver doesn’t have any insurance. But, what if you’re in an accident, and you’re injured, but the other driver only has minimum Liability Coverage?
In West Virginia, the law requires you to purchase minimum Liability Coverage amounts of $20,000 maximum per person, $40,000 maximum total per accident, and $10,000 property damage. As the cost of insurance is directly correlated with coverage, many West Virginians buy as cheap as possible to save money, which means there are a lot of minimum coverage drivers on West Virginia’s roads.
It’s easy to see the benefits of having Underinsured Coverage in a scenario where your medical bills alone total $30,000, and the other driver’s insurance company can only pay you a maximum of $20,000. Unfortunately, that scenario is far too common. Your damages can add up fast following an accident. Do yourself and your loved ones a favor, and buy Underinsured Motorist Coverage. It could mean protecting your financial well-being if you’re in an accident.